Montage Project

blakebrustmontage

DESCRIPTION
Design a spiritual poster montage using the blend of images and type.

PROCESS (Programs, Tools, Skills, FOCUS principles)
I used photoshop to over lay several of my own pictures that I had taken with my Nikon d5100.  I found the inspirational words on line  that really represented the contrast that I was trying to present. I overlaid the images of the mountains to give more of depth of field. I duplicated a small part of the front mountain to have it go completely across the bottom. I added a vivid light filter to the sunset picture to give it a lava like color under the mountain. I created the God text in several overlaid layers of light blue which created cloud like effect. The Satan text color came from the vivid light of the sunset. I had to color parts in with black because there was too much red below.

 

CRITIQUE PROCESS
Group Critique: The group I was in each pointed out something they would change but then others would tell me to leave it alone. One group member suggested to maybe move the God text to the sky and do white instead, but others say I should leave it to keep the cool color which i agree with. Another Critique said I could try to make more blue sky vs lava red. I actually did this on purpose to create that mood of doom is eminent but there is always hope. The other group members once again agreed with me.  I appreciated the feed back but for this project I did leave everything the way it was since there was no suggestions that were conclusive.

MESSAGE
We may feel like we are down too deep to ever reach success but there is always hope when we raise our eyes.

AUDIENCE
All those who feel like they have ever been in a hole surrounded by your problems.

TOP THING LEARNED
A picture can have a lot more uses then what is apparent. Who knew a sunset could be a good volcano! I also learned that patience is important. I was thinking about scraping the whole thing and starting over but I eventually did find a good way to balance it.

COLOR SCHEME & COLOR NAMES
Triadic color scheme // Red, Blue, Yellow

TITLE FONT NAME & CATEGORY
Trattatello Regular // Decretive

Minion Pro Bold Cond// Slab Serif

THUMBNAILS OF ANY ORIGINAL, UNEDITED IMAGE(S) USED IN THE PROJECT

 

dsc_0560dsc_0413dsc_0617

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

